The success of NRP 61 depended on many actors.

​The Steering Committee is responsible for running the programme - from selecting projects to scientific quality assurance to producing a synthesis at the end of the programme.

The programme coordinator and the president of the Steering Committee are responsible for the operational management. The head of knowledge exchange is responsible for the communication of the research results to target audiences.

The National Research Council of the SNSF is ultimately responsible for the NRP. The delegate of the Research Council acts as a link between the Research Council and the Steering Committee.

Steering Committee Members:

  • Prof. em. Christian Leibundgut (president), Institute of Hydrology, University of Freiburg, Germany;
  • Prof. Günter Blöschl, Institute for Hydraulic and Water Resources Engineering, Vienna University of Technology;
  • Prof. Dietrich Borchardt, Department Aquatic Ecosystem Analysis and Management, Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research UFZ, Leipzig;
  • Ing. dipl. EPF Ulrich Bundi, formerly Swiss Federal Institute of Aquatic Science and Technology EAWAG, Dübendorf (until January 2013);
  • Prof. Bernd Hansjürgens, Division of Social Science (ÖKUS), Department of Economics, Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research UFZ, Leipzig;
  • Prof. Bruno Merz, Director of Geoengineering Department, GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences, Potsdam;
  • Prof. em Franz Nobilis, University of Vienna, Subhead (retired) Federal Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry, Environment & Water Management (Department Water, Hydrographisches Zentralbüro), Vienna.

Delegate of Division IV of the National Research Council:

  • Prof. Nina Buchmann, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) Zurich

Head of Knowledge Exchange:

  • Dr. Patricia Fry, Wissensmanagement Umwelt GmbH, Zürich

Representative of the Confederation:

  • PD Dr. Stephan Müller, Director of Water Division, Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN), Bern

Programme Coordinator:

  • Dr. Barbara Flückiger Schwarzenbach, SNSF, Bern

Members of the advisory board:

  • Dr. Christoph Böbner, Head Office for Agriculture and Forestry, canton of Lucerne
  • Katharina Dobler, Vorsteherin Abteilung Kantonsplanung, Amt für Gemeinden und Raumordnung, Justiz-, Gemeinde- und Kirchendirektion, Kanton Bern
  • Dr. Anton Kilchmann, Director of Swiss Gas and Water Industry Association (SVGW / SSIGE)
  • PD Dr. Stefan Müller, Head Division Water, Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN)
  • Roger Pfammatter, Direktor Schweizerischer Wasserwirtschaftsverband (SWV)
  • Moritz Steiner, Dienstchef Dienststelle für Energie und Wasserkraft, Kanton Wallis
  • Adèle Thorens Goumaz, Member of the National Council, Canton of Vaud, Green Party
  • Luca Vetterli, Pro Natura
  • Hansjörg Walter, Member of the National Council, Canton of Thurgau, SVP /UDC ; Chairman of the Swiss Farmers' Union
  • Martin Würsten, Head Office of Environment, Canton of Solothurn

Further information on this content